Message from the Faculty Council President


The Faculty Council (FC) is the official organization of the faculty through which consultation between the Dean and faculty is achieved. The Faculty Council represents the faculty in the initiation, development, implementation, and maintenance of the educational programs of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. The scope includes policies and procedures governing: (a) the curriculum of the School; (b) student admissions;
(c) student academic progress; (d) awarding of degrees; (e) faculty appointment, promotion and tenure; (f) grievance procedures; (g) the organizational structure of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

The FC consists of representatives from each clinical and basic science department, with the number of representatives being proportional to the number of faculty in the department. There are currently 150 representatives in the FC and each serves a one-year term. FC meets monthly on the last Wednesday of each month (except July and December) at 5:00 PM. The leadership of the FC is the Steering Committee, that meets on the second Wednesday of each month as well. The Steering Committee consists of a mix of clinical and basic science faculty and changes on a yearly basis. The current Steering Committee is listed below. FC has a number of standing committees which do much of the work of the FC. For a list and current members see here.

FC is a great way to get to know the medical school as a whole, the key individuals, and to make a difference. The Faculty Council, among other activities, sponsors the New Faculty Orientation. The FC has recently been involved in revising the admissions policy and the conflict of interest policy. We welcome your participation, energy, and ideas! Volunteer to be an FC representative and let us know how we can do better!

Tom Russo
President, Faculty Council


Faculty Council Administrative Assistant
Katie Beakman
Senior Staff Assistant for Resource Management
Office of Resource Management
Phone: 716.829.2771
Fax: 716.829.3395

Faculty Council President
Thomas Russo
Professor and Chief, Infectious Disease; Vice Chair for Business Operations