The Faculty Council (FC) is the official organization of the faculty through which consultation between the Dean and faculty is achieved. The Faculty Council represents the faculty in the initiation, development, implementation, and maintenance of the educational programs of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. The FC consists of representatives from each clinical and basic science department, and meet regularly.

The scope includes policies and procedures governing:

  • (a) the curriculum of the School;
    (b) student admissions
    (c) student academic progress;
    (d) awarding of degrees;
    (e) faculty appointment, promotion and tenure;
    (f) grievance procedures;
    (g) the organizational structure of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

    >> learn more

.

Meeting Time and Location

Meetings are held on the last Wednesday of each month at 5:00 PM in Farber 144

Upcoming Meetings:

JSMBS Faculty Council Meeting
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
144 Farber Hall
JSMBS Faculty Council Meeting
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
144 Farber Hall
JSMBS Faculty Council Meeting
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
144 Farber Hall
JSMBS Faculty Council Meeting
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
144 Farber Hall

 

Steering Committee of Faculty Council 2016-2017

Gabriela Popescu Biochemistry Basic Science Representative to Executive Committee
(2 year)
popescu@buffalo.edu
John Hall Medicine Clinical Representative to Executive Committee
(2 year)
jdrbmd@verizon.net
Jennifer Surtees Biochemistry Parliamentarian (2 year) jsurtees@buffalo.edu
Michael Morales Physiology President- Elect (1 year) moralesm@buffalo.edu
Glenna Bett OB-GYN Past President (1 year) bett@buffalo.edu
Thomas Russo
Medicine President (1 year) trusso@buffalo.edu
Phillip Glick MD/PHD Chair of Faculty Senate glicklab@buffalo.edu
Mark Parker Physiology Secretary (2 year) parker28@buffalo.edu
Michael Chaskes
Medicine MedicineRepresentative to Steering Committee (1 year) mchaskes@buffalo.edu
Ralph Benedict Neurology Representative to Steering Committee (1 year) benedict@buffalo.edu
Laurene Tumiel-Berhalter Family Medicine Representative to Steering Committee (1 year) tumiel@buffalo.edu
Michael Cain SMBS Dean   mcain@buffalo.edu
Dayle Cotter   BNMC Representative
dcotter@bnmc.org






Quick Links

Contact:
Faculty Council Administrative Assistant
Katie Beakman
Senior Staff Assistant for Resource Management
Office of Resource Management
Phone: 716.829.2771
Fax: 716.829.3395
Email: kearl@buffalo.edu


Faculty Council President
Thomas Russo
Professor and Chief, Infectious Disease; Vice Chair for Business Operations